O-Week Day 2

The day began with a ‘recovery brekkie’ (brekkie is short for breakfast) at noon. It was actually pretty good, there was toast with egg in the middle, beans, bacon, sausage, and pancakes. The line was crazy long, but it encouraged socializing. I’ve been seeing reoccurring faces, which is nice, and they seem to recognize me which is even better. The socializing is getting easier, so there’s that. A few of us got breakfast (it was really lunch) and sat down together at the table. Steph met these two guys Sean and Brady who sat with us, and Matt (who is from Boston and is going to RMIT) and his roommate Jack joined us. We all talked for a while, and then Zara, Sam, Ollie, and their friends from Queensland, Braden and Gavin, as well as Jonathan (the canadian RA) all went to the pool, so we joined them. We were all just chillin’ for a few hours, until we were all prune-y and hungry and everyone dispersed. Then at 7:30 there was a hypnotist show in the study room. It was entertaining to say the least. The only other time I’ve ever experienced a hypnotist was grad night senior year. It was pretty much the same. Some people got really into it. I don’t really know how to describe it… It’s just something you have to see for yourself.

Tomorrow is the Amazing Race around Melbourne in our designated teams. Be prepared for some hard core bonding, woo. Then in the evening there is pizza and then they’re busing us off to a club for a traffic light party. For those of you who don’t know that means your supposed to wear certain colors based on your relationship status: green=single, yellow=it’s complicated/proceed with caution, red=taken, or as I heard some girl saying: red=back the hell off, green=I’m easy, come at me, yellow=I’m an idiot cause I can’t make up my mind. So, make of it what you will. As luck would have it I don’t own/bring anything in traffic colors, so I’ll be wearing black and thus I’ll be mysterious and breaking the rules and what not… like every other girl I’ve heard talking “I’m just going to wear black or white”. And anyone who is too drunk to get back to the bus will be left behind, so it should be an interesting evening to say the least.

Vocabulary-ish: I’ve hear a lot of the RA’s and older kids calling people Jaffy (it was also written with the profanities on the beer race losers shirt) and apparently it means Just Another F*ing First Year or Just Another F*ing Fresh-Y. Can’t you just feel the love?

I’ve noticed that there are different names here that are popular than the ones back home. Jack and Harry are I think the most common for boys. Liam is pretty popular too. And Maddie is actually quite popular among the girls, which is the weirdest thing for me, because it’s not all that popular back home, at least not within my age group.

I still haven’t figured out how to not end these post abruptly… I guess I’ll say that I hope y’all are enjoying this and that it’s not a chore to read, I miss everyone back home, and I’ll do my best to keep y’all posted! (pun intended…)

Leave a Reply

